The top two inches

by jeffevans967

If you know me at all you’ll know I enjoy my sport, and I’ve been fortunate enough to write freelance for SkySports: The Magazine over the past 4 or 5 years. Well it seems an era is coming to an end, with word that the magazine is closing shop. After 10+ years of feeding kiwi’s a decent diet of sports stories, Sky has decided to stop publishing their magazine.

Although I’m naturally sad to see the magazine go the way so many others have in recent years, I’m proud to have been a small part of it’s history, and have cherished the opportunity to be published within it’s pages (you can scroll through most of my articles HERE).

What I’ll miss the most are the introductions writing for the magazine afforded me into the sporting lives of so many great athletes. I’ve interviewed world champion cyclists, ironmen and softballers – and I’ve been there when national rodeo stars have dragged themselves out of the mud, battered and bruised – and I’ve been in attendance when Japanese masters have instructed in both kendo and kyudo, and I’ve loved every moment of it.

So HERE is a link to my very last SkySports article: The Top Two Inches. It looks at what it takes to make it as a pro athlete, and encompasses interviews with another four champion Kiwi athletes: Stacey Jones, Gary Anderson, Cory Hutchings, and Eric Murray.

There will be a full version of the story in my ‘Articles’ section within a few days.